William Taylor

Founding Editor, Fast Company and Best-Selling Author, Practically Radical: Not-So-Crazy Ways to Transform Your Company, Shake Up Your Industry, and Challenge Yourself

Exclusively WSB

Bill Taylor is an agenda-setting writer, speaker and entrepreneur who has shaped the global conversation about the best ways to compete, innovate and succeed. His most recent book, Practically Radical: Not-So-Crazy Ways to Transform Your Company, Shake Up Your Industry, and Challenge Yourself, is based on in-depth access to 25 organizations that are making deep-seated changes under the most trying circumstances imaginable. These organizations (from hard-charging technology companies to long-established nonprofits, from hospitals to automakers to banks) are mastering a set of strategies and practices that define the work of leadership in turbulent times-ideas from which every leader can learn.

The book was published by William Morrow, an imprint of HarperColllins, and became an immediate Wall Street Journal best seller. Daniel H. Pink, best-selling author of Drive and A Whole New Mind, calls the book "the most powerful and instructive change manual you'll ever read." Gail McGovern, president and CEO of the American Red Cross, calls it "a must-read for organizations that want to stay energized and relevant." CNN, in an in-depth report on the book, declared that Taylor "has a cult following in workplace and management circles."

Practically Radical is a sequel of sorts to Taylor's previous book, Mavericks at Work: Why the Most Original Minds in Business Win. "I didn't just 'read' this book, I devoured it!" declared Tom Peters when Mavericks appeared. James J. Cramer, co-founder of TheStreet.com and host of CNBC's Mad Money with Jim Cramer, had this to say: "If Mavericks at Work had come out before I started TheStreet.com, I could have saved my investors (and myself) $100 million-because I would have been able to take the lessons in the book and apply them every day to my business." Added talent guru Marcus Buckingham: "You must find the time to read this book."

Just weeks after its release, Mavericks became a New York Times best seller, a Wall Street Journal business best seller and a BusinessWeek best seller. It was the subject of articles, reviews and columns in many top publications, including U.S. News & World Report, The Boston Globe, The Economist, which called the book "a pivotal work in the tradition of In Search of Excellence and Good to Great." The Economist also named Mavericks one of its "Books of the Year, 2006." Other accolades include: "Top Ten Business Book of The Year" (amazon.com), "Top Ten Book on Innovation and Design" (BusinessWeek) and "2006 Picks of the Year in Business Books" (The Financial Times).

Taylor’s next book is Be the Only: Thriving in a World Where Best Isn’t Good Enough. The book offers a set of essential principles for exceptional performance, based on case studies of 15 truly unique organizations that are winning big in tough and demanding fields. Be The Only will be published on September 6, 2016.

Taylor’s books highlight a career devoted to challenging conventional wisdom and showcasing the power of business at its best. He first made his name as co-founder and founding editor of Fast Company, one of the most influential magazines of the last two decades. Fast Company has won countless awards, from Startup of the Year in its early days to 2014’s Magazine of the Year, the highest honor in its field. It has been ground-breaking as a business as well. A company that began in borrowed office space in Harvard Square eventually sold for $360 million—the second-highest price for a single magazine is U.S. history. In recognition of Fast Company's impact on business, Taylor was named "Champion of Workplace Learning and Performance" by the American Society of Training and Development. Past winners include Jack Welch of GE and Fred Smith of FedEx.

Taylor is the co-author of three other books on strategy, leadership and innovation: The Big Boys: Power and Position in American Business; No-Excuses Management and Going Global. He has published numerous essays and CEO interviews in The Harvard Business Review, and his column, "Under New Management," ran in the Sunday Business section of The New York Times. Another column, "Bill Taylor on Big Ideas," ran in The Guardian newspaper of London. Today, Taylor chronicles his research, insights and lessons in a popular blog for the Harvard Business Review.

A graduate of Princeton University and the MIT Sloan School of Management, he lives in Wellesley, Massachusetts, with his wife and two daughters.